2007 Sustainability Leadership Award Winners


Student Award

The student award was presented to a group of eleven students who participated in the KU Hillel Everett Tzedek Social Action Project in Spring 2007. Their project promoted the values of sustainability throughout Hillel programming, encouraged Hillel to implement sustainable business practices in its daily operations, and effected change in the broader community. The group also produced a short film that explored local awareness of global climate change. Students involved in the project include Jonathan Eisen, Megan Nissim, Bridey Maidhof, Claire Steifel, Justin Leverett, Kim Lear, Dena Hart, Ellie Dorfman, Batya Meyer, Jess Levy, Rachel Silvestain.

Staff Award

Wayne Pearse, Building Engineer for KU Memorial Unions, received the staff Sustainability Leadership Award. Wayne was recognized for playing a key role in a number of projects to reduce waste and promote a healthier indoor environment at the Kansas Union. Examples of his efforts include implementing innovative energy conservation measures, supporting a successful recycling program, and introducing a green cleaning process that replaces traditional supplies with non-toxic cleaning products.

Faculty Award

The third award was presented to Dr. Susan Stagg-Williams, Associate Professor of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, and Ilya Tabakh, a doctoral student in Environmental Engineering, for their involvement in the KU Biodiesel Initiative. Their project involves the operation of a reactor that converts used cooking oil collected from a campus dining facility into biodiesel fuel. Through this initiative, Williams and Tabakh are creating new research opportunities in the area of alternative fuels, developing fuel testing methods that will support local industry, and generating a useable fuel source out of materials that would otherwise be discarded as waste. 

The award ceremony was followed by a reception featuring organic and all-natural snack items provided by KU Dining Services, highlighting their MarketFresh pilot concept available in The Market at the Kansas Union. MarketFresh celebrates sustainable farming techniques and educates customers about the importance of sustainable food systems.

Congratulations to our award winners and to all of the incredible nominees that are making a difference here at KU! 

Past Award Recipients

To find out about past recipients of the Sustainability Leadership Award, click on the year below.

Coronavirus Update

As part of our efforts to reduce an on-campus presence and promote social distancing, KU Surplus is ceasing all operations and KU Recycling is limiting any special collections that are not mission critical. For more information, email us at sustainability@ku.edu

Sustainability Plan

KU Bike Plan

KU Bike Plan

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times