• Home
  • People
  • Committees
  • Bicycle Advisory Committee

Center Bike Lane Concept

Bicycle Advisory Committee Charges

The KU Bicycle Advisory Committee (KUBAC) is made up of students, staff, and faculty from the KU community. The Committee was formed during the summer of 2012 as a means of helping implement the bicycle related goals of the Sustainability Plan.  The following charges are set forth for the Committee:

  1. Promote bicycling as a mode of transportation and a form of recreation and exercise.
  2. Educate the campus community – including motorists, cyclists, and pedestrians – on bicycle safety and etiquette.
  3. Advise Campus Operations on matters related to bicycle infrastructure in order to maintain and improve a physical environment that encourages biking and multi-modal transportation.



  • Michele Berendson - Publications Manager, Lied Center
  • Kim Criner - Education & Outreach Coordinator, Center for Sustainability
  • Chris Depcik - Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Mike Dickey - Assistant Director, Recreation Services
  • Linda Dixon - Assistant Director, Center for Civic & Social Responsibility
  • Marci Francisco - Retired Staff, Community Member
  • Justin Henning - Associate Director, Marketing Communications
  • Tanner Hyland - Student Senate
  • Jessica Mortinger - Transportation Planner, City of Lawrence
  • John Paden - Associate Scientist, Center for Remote Sensing of Ice Sheets
  • Jeff Severin - Director, KU Center for Sustainability
  • Kari Stone-Sewalish - Complex Director, Student Housing
  • Andrew Strempke - Student, KU Cycling Club
  • Tom Waechter - Director, Capital Planning & Space Management
  • Patricia Weaver - Associate Director, Transportation Research Institute
  • Mark Witt - Captain, Public Safety Office
  • Caitlin Zibers - Student, Urban Planning

KU Today

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
26 prestigious Rhodes Scholars — more than all other Kansas colleges combined
Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
Bicycle Resources

Learn about bike rentals, bike maintenance, and more on our "Bike KU" pages!