• Home
  • KU Announces 2017 Sustainability Leadership Award Recipients at 10th Annual Ceremony

KU Announces 2017 Sustainability Leadership Award Recipients at 10th Annual Ceremony

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas Center for Sustainability will recognize 10 individuals and initiatives with Sustainability Leadership Awards on Friday, April 21, as part of KU's Earth Day festivities. The event will take place at 3:30 p.m. on the Dance Pavilion west of Potter Lake.

This is the 10th year that the Sustainability Leadership Awards will recognize outstanding leadership and creativity in addressing issues of ecology, efficiency and equity on the KU campus and in the broader community. Award recipients are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee that includes past award winners.

Since the Sustainability Leadership Awards were established in 2007, the program has expanded from recognizing three winners in the categories of faculty, staff and student leadership to giving 10 awards. Award categories now make room for campus champions in social justice, energy conservation, scholarship and more.

The 2017 Sustainability Leadership Award recipients and their respective areas of recognition include:

  • Sierra Marteine Two Bulls: master's degree candidate, social work - Student Leadership
  • Ike Uri: senior, sociology - Undergraduate Scholarship
  • Pallavi Bobba: doctoral candidate, Center for Environmentally Beneficial Catalysis - Graduate Scholarship
  • Frank Cabano: doctoral candidate, business - Graduate Scholarship
  • Brian Rock: associate professor, civil, environmental & architectural engineering - Faculty Leadership
  • Cynthia Perez: senior administrative assistant, chemical & petroleum engineering - Staff Leadership
  • KU School of Business - Departmental Leadership
  • Courtside Café: KU Dining Services, DeBruce Center - Leadership Project
  • Chris Ash: senior, political science, Psychology - Social Justice
  • Tony Nubile: facilities manager, KU Edwards - Energy Conservation

"For 10 years now, we’ve been recognizing the accomplishments of faculty, staff and students with Sustainability Leadership Awards, and it hasn’t gotten any easier to narrow the impressive pool of nominees down to just 10 award winners,” said Jeff Severin, director of sustainability & campus planning. “I continue to be amazed by the efforts of members of the campus community to create positive change for campus and contribute to a more sustainable future for us all."

Details about the award program and this year’s awardees can be found at www.sustain.ku.edu/awards

Award recipients will be honored at the awards ceremony along with campus departments receiving recognition as a Green Office for adopting sustainable practices in the workplace. The event is open to the public. 

Coronavirus Update

As part of our efforts to reduce an on-campus presence and promote social distancing, KU Surplus is ceasing all operations and KU Recycling is limiting any special collections that are not mission critical. For more information, email us at sustainability@ku.edu

Sustainability Plan

KU Bike Plan

KU Bike Plan

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times